Continuing Education for Real Estate Agents
Know your requirements

Every state has different continuing education (CE) requirements for real estate agents and property managers. For you convenience, we've compiled a list of course providers and general CE requirements by state.

Alabama

Alaska

Alaska Real Estate Commission

All Real Estate Licenses expire on January 31 of even-numbered years regardless of when first issued, except new licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date will be issued to the next biennium.

Licensees who receive their original license within 12 months of the expiration date pay the full license fee and then at their first renewal pay a prorated renewal fee (half of the current license fee).

You must renew your license on or before the expiration date to continue practice in Alaska. There is no grace period to practice on a lapsed license. Renewal forms will be mailed at least 60 days before the expiration date to the last address you provided to the board. You must report all new addresses to the Board in writing.


Arizona

Arizona Department of Real Estate
Salesperson or Associate Broker License
24 hours of ADRE-approved Continuing Education (CE) courses must be completed and uploaded at az.gov/webapp/dre every two years to renew a real estate license. Of the 24 hours required for renewal, you must obtain credit hours as indicated in EACH of the following subjects:
Agency Law 3 hours
Contract Law 3 hours
Commissioner's Standards 3 hours
Disclosure 3 hours
Fair Housing** 3 hours
Real Estate Legal Issues 3 hours
General Real Estate 6 hours
Designated Broker or Delegated Associate Broker License
24 or 30 hours (effective on and after 1/1/2013) of ADRE-approved Continuing Education (CE) courses must be completed and uploaded at az.gov/webapp/dre every two years to renew a real estate license. Of the 24 or 30 hours (effective on and after 1/1/2013) required for renewal, you must obtain credit hours as indicated in EACH of the following subjects:
Agency Law 3 hours
Contract Law 3 hours
Broker Management Clinic* 3 hours (9 hours effective 1/1/2013)
Disclosure 3 hours
Fair Housing** 3 hours
Real Estate Legal Issues 3 hours
General Real Estate 6 hours

Arkansas

Arkansas Real Estate Commission
  • Licensees must obtain six hours of continuing education annually to renew an active real estate license for the upcoming calendar year.
  • For Licensees obtaining a license in the current year, satisfaction of your continuing education requirement will be required upon your second active license renewal after you are licensed.
  • If you are not sure a real estate course you are considering will fulfill annual continuing education requirements, contact either the Arkansas Real Estate Commission (501) 683-8010.
  • When transferring a license from inactive to active status, continuing education hours must have been completed in the year in which the license is activated or the preceding calendar year.
  • Commission Regulation 11.4 does not allow one course to be used for both continuing education and pre-licensing education.

California

California Bureau of Real Estate

For subsequent renewals, all real estate brokers and salespersons must complete 45 clock hours of CalBRE-approved continuing education consisting of:

  • Either 15 hours of continuing education courses in the following subjects: Ethics, Agency, Trust Fund Handling, Fair Housing, and Risk Management OR one eight-hour survey course that covers the five mandatory subjects (Ethics, Agency, Trust Fund Handling, Fair Housing, and Risk Management);
  • At least 18 clock hours of consumer protection courses; and
  • The remaining clock hours required to complete the 45 hours of continuing education may be related to either consumer service or consumer protection courses.

Colorado

Colorado Division of Real Estate

The real estate industry is constantly changing and in order to stay on top of the trends, laws, contract changes and practice requirements, all active real estate brokers need to complete 24 hours of continuing education during each three (3) year license cycle.

Required Continuing Education
Twelve (12) of the 24 hours must be comprised of three (3) different versions of the four-hour (4) Annual Commission Update Course. The remaining twelve (12) hours can be any combination of elective credit hours approved the Colorado Real Estate Commission.

*Note: if a licensee takes four (4) versions of the update course during the license cycle, the fourth class may be counted toward the elective credit requirement. It may not be used for credit in next/upcoming license cycle.
Alternatives to the 24 hours
Annual Commission Update courses are mandatory but once the course's year had passed, that version can not be made it. In these cases, licensees will need to investigate alternative ways to meet the continuing education requirements. These options include:
  • Complete the 24 hour Broker Reactivation Course** (permitted once every other license cycle)
  • Complete and pass the State protion of the Colorado Broker's Exam
  • Complete 48 Hours in Colorado Contracts & Requirements and 24 hours in Real Estate Closings for a total of 72 hours.

**If a licensee has been inactive for longer than three (3) years/36 months, the licensee MUST complete either the State portion of the Colorado Broker's Exam or 48 Hours in Colorado Contracts & Requirements and 24 hours in Real Estate Closings for a total of 72 hours.

Connecticut

Delaware

District of Columbia

Florida

Georgia

Hawaii

Idaho

Illinois

Indiana

Iowa

Kansas

Kentucky

Louisiana

Maine

Maryland

Massachusetts

Michigan

Minnesota

Mississippi

Missouri

Montana

Nebraska

Nevada

New Hampshire

New Jersey

New Mexico

New York

North Carolina

North Dakota

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon

Pennsylvania

Puerto Rico

Rhode Island

South Carolina

South Dakota

Tennessee

Texas

Texas Real Estate Commission
Mandatory Continuing Education (MCE) Requirements
(for Individual Brokers and for Salespersons who have satisfied SAE requirements)
Mandatory Continuing Education (MCE) refers to the Real Estate License Act's continuing education requirement (1101.455) of 15 classroom hours (6 hours of which are the approved Legal & Ethics courses) to be completed during each two-year renewal period. A broker who sponsors salespersons,the designated broker of a business entity, or a salesperson who is a delegated supervisor of one or more license holders for six months or more during the current license cycle must also attend a 6 hour broker responsibility course as part of the 15 hour MCE requirement. Below are links to key pages dealing with MCE.
  • MCE Credit Request forms for submittal to TREC for special cases (out of state MCE, State Bar, or courses for a Professional Designation)
  • See YOUR MCE Credit Hours! - courses for which you've received credit (in Licensee Info Search)
  • MCE FAQs page for course requirements and answers to many common questions on the topic of MCE
  • MCE Exemption for Certain Qualifying Brokers, from the Real Estate License Act

Utah

Vermont

Virginia

Washington

Washington Real Estate Commission
Continuing education requirements
When you may renew your broker's license, you must provide proof you have completed all the required continuing education:
Type of renewal Required continuing education
First active renewal
  • 30-hour Advanced Practices Course
  • 30-hour Real Estate Law Course
  • 30 hours of approved continuing education, including a 3-hour Core Course
  • The hours must be completed after the date of first licensure.
Subsequent active renewals
  • 30 hours of approved continuing education, including a 3-hour Core Course
  • A minimum of 15 hours must be completed within 24 months of your renewal date. You may also submit up to 15 hours of unused continuing education that was completed within 48 months of your renewal date.
Inactive renewals No continuing education required to renew an inactive license.
 
If you want to activate your license, you may need to meet the education requirements for an active license.

West Virginia

Wisconsin

Wyoming